Adventures of Araleith

“Life is uncharted territory. It reveals its story one moment at a time.”

Ideas Worth Spreading

on November 18, 2012

Today was a local TEDx event (if you follow me on Twitter, you know this, as I was pretty tweet-spammy this morning!), which I was lucky enough to be chosen to attend. It was held in a fantastic new building on campus, which was cool, because that building is usually  closed to the public (at least for now), so getting inside was neat.

The talks themselves were pretty awesome. I learned about how the healthcare system in Canada is kinda broken, but people are working to make it better, and to make it more person-centered.I also learned about some inspirational stuff, like how following your passions and learning to just pick yourself up, despite what the world throws at you and the walls you run into in life. 

I also learned about “Finding your Tribe” – as Heather Dale (whom I admire greatly!) put it, “Don’t let anyone tell you that you have to fit in to make a success in your life.” You just have to find the people who are like you, and go from there. To find your people, you need to know what sort of person you are.

For me, this was a pretty randomly-brain-opening thing. I have been struggling lately with that sort of thing – I don’t really fit in, it feels like, in a lot of the spaces I find myself in, but I have decided that it just means I gotta find me a different game of human-interaction-Tetris to play. Someday, someone is going to need the weird shaped piece that is me, and I just have to keep putting myself out there, and finding the people that are like me. I can do that!

I did end up leaving early, though – it was a pretty intense social day, and for me, who is a pretty hardcore introvert, it got to be a little much. I decided to head home and recharge and work on some school stuff and the like. I don’t regret attending in the least, though. It was a pretty fantastic experience, and if there is a similar event in your area, I highly recommend it!

One response to “Ideas Worth Spreading

  1. Woudy says:

    We are all Tetris pieces ,yeah the straight long pieces and the square ones fit almost anywhere but the interesting ones of odd shapes are the ones that can’t be replaced and always finish the puzzle because they are the only ones who can fill that special place no one els can.! That’s why they should be more loved and respected.

Leave a Reply

