Adventures of Araleith

“Life is uncharted territory. It reveals its story one moment at a time.”

Feeling like a Baby Hippo

on October 17, 2012

I love being in the water. It’s the only time in my life that I feel like I have a hope at being graceful. 

I often joke that I feel like a baby hippo – rounder than I ought to be, ungainly like I am still trying to find my feet, and generally confused about this whole “movement” thing that everyone seems to understand. I am a bit of a klutz, I suppose you could say.

This all changes for me when I am swimming. When I hit the water, its like the rest of the world just goes away – gravity no longer applies, so I can just move without being afraid I will end up flat on my face.

My mother and I have started going to Aquafit again at a localish pool. I love this so, so much, because I get to be in the water, I get to exercise, and all of it is just lovely and wonderful. I can just move and use my body and my joints that usually cause me pain don’t and it is just…nice. I doubt I look at all graceful, but I feel that way. 

It’s a weird transformation. I put on my bathing suit, I let the water flow over me, and suddenly, 45 minutes of exercise seems like 5 minutes, because I am enjoying myself, and I feel like every movement is possible. 

Leave a Reply

