Adventures of Araleith

“Life is uncharted territory. It reveals its story one moment at a time.”

It’s okay to be silly.

on October 6, 2012

“We are all a little weird and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love.”

I will be the first to admit I am more than a little weird. Right now, there’s not anyone in complete mutual weirdness with me, but that doesn’t mean I don’t manage to find my own little bits of random silly.

Take this week. 

Apparently there is this group on campus who want us all to speak out about mental illness, to erase the stigma. I think that is SO fantastic. So I was chilling and talking, and they were like “Can we take your picture with this chalkboard with a message you wrote on it about how we should talk about mental illness?” I said sure, because what else does a purple haired girl have to do at 4 in the afternoon? 🙂

I wrote something along the lines of “We speak, because the silence is unawesome and lonely”. And the girl taking my picture kept giggling because I was super bouncy and excited. Apparently my enthusiasm for the project made her day, so that was nifty.

Today, I had another random silly (that also ended with me getting my picture taken!) because of TEDx.

If you don’t know what TED Talks are, you are missing out on some SUPER smart stuff. It’s mindblowing, for serious. 

There were a bunch of people talking about TEDx today in one of the buildings that I walk through, and they had a little table thing set up, and they asked me if they could take my picture with these red cutouts of the letters “T”, “E”, “D” and “x” (for obvious reasons). 

I said sure, but I said I didn’t know if I could hold all 4 letters, so one of the people there took two, and I took two, and was like “Let’s be awesome with this.” 

So we stretched out on the floor on our stomachs, holding one letter on either side of our faces, and made the best random faces we could think of. 

I laughed like mad.

Both of these moments were less than 5 minutes long, but both left me grinning like a crazybean for the rest of the day, because I just allowed myself to be silly and excited and yay about things. 

I should do that more often.

Leave a Reply

