Adventures of Araleith

“Life is uncharted territory. It reveals its story one moment at a time.”

Going Medieval!

on October 1, 2012

My mom wanted to go to Medieval TImes for her birthday. We’d never been (we were supposed to go when I was younger, but then my brain imploded, and we didn’t go.).

It was a delightful adventure. 

There were knights and lances and fighting and awesome and delicious food. 

We were sitting right at the front, so we had an unobstructed view of everything, and I loved it. I know it’s all practiced and staged, but that added to the magic – knowing the work involved in learning and doing such a thing from my small experiences with local theatre, I have a huge appreciate for people who learn that sort of fight work (or any theatrical thing, really!).

I said to my mom that it was like seeing Tamora Pierce novels in real life – there were little things where I was like “OMG Kel would have done something like that” or “Alanna would have been like…” which amused me endlessly. 

My sister and her boyfriend paid to get my mother knighted, so she is now a Dame of the Realm. What realm, I cannot say, but hey, it was cool.

There was also the dungeon, with all the torture implements – it was delightful and disturbing all at once. Things like that make me marvel at humanity’s ability to be absolutely terrible to one another.

Getting to eat with my hands was silly fun. Especially pulling apart the half-chicken I had to eat. (It was a tiny chicken.)

We laughed, we cheered, my mom got a flower from our knight, there were pictures and silliness and generally family awesome. 

It was one of those adventures that reminded me how my family can be totally awesome – we aren’t afraid to have fun and be just absolutely ridiculous sometimes. 

Leave a Reply

